John and Me

In an earlier post (“Tackling the Tough Issues”) I noted my difference in perspective from eminent Washington Post blogger (and former Washington Bureau Chief in Beijing) John Pomfret regarding Hillary Clinton’s approach to human rights issues in China. John has now responded to my post with some further thoughts in his blog.

One of my goals in starting this blog was to stimulate more discussion of our approach to China, so I appreciate that John has responded to my comments. I hope that through dialogue in the public space everyone interested in US-China relations will benefit. I also hope others who read our exchanges will respond in his blog or in mine and add to the dialogue. And holding a dialogue between blogs makes me feel very cool. And at my age that feeling is rare.

I will put together some further thoughts in response to John’s latest post. In the meantime, hope readers will check out what John has to say http://newsweek.washingtonpost.com/postglobal/pomfretschina/2009/03/more_on_hillary_and_us_china_p.html  I will be back with my further reflections soon.

Explore posts in the same categories: China, Human Rights

Leave a Reply

